Sale!

Day My Grandfather Was a Hero

699.00 524.00

Out of stock

Email when stock is available

“This is a beautiful book, a masterpiece of brevity and depth” New European”This tense novella builds to a final reckoning” The TimesIn October 1944, a thirteen-year-old girl arrives in a tiny farming community in Lower Austria, at some distance from the main theatre of war. She remembers very little about how she got there, it seems she has suffered trauma from bombardment. One night a few months later, a young, emaciated Russian appears, a deserter from forced labour in the east. He has nothing with him but a canvas roll, which he guards like a hawk. Their burgeoning friendship is abruptly interrupted by the arrival of a group of Wehrmacht soldiers in retreat, who commandeer the farm.Paulus Hochgatterer’s intensely atmospheric, resonant novel is like a painting in itself, a beautiful observation of small shifts from apathy in a community not directly affected by the war, but exhausted by it nonetheless; individual acts of moral bravery which to some extent have the power to change the course of history.Longlisted for the Austrian Book Prize 2017, this subtle, evocative novella will appeal to readers of Hubert Mingarelli’s A MEAL IN WINTER and Jenny Erpenbeck’s THE END OF DAYS. Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch]]>

Author

,

Publisher

, , , , , ,

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Day My Grandfather Was a Hero”

Your email address will not be published.